c1 paddle length

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

PaulD

c1 paddle length

Post by PaulD »

Here we go again...

I searched for c1 paddle length but couldn't find what I was looking for....

I'm new to C1 and recently bought a BigEZ and a 58 inch paddle. I went with 58 inches based on the standard method I keep reading about: sit in the boat, measure up from the floor to you nose, then add the blade length. This got me to a 58 inch Werner Bandit.

I just tried this out today and it seemed long, particularly on the cross side. My upper hand was over my head on the cross side.

Seems like I should've gone with a 56? I'm 6-ft tall, 33 inch inseam, and usually wear a 33-inch sleeve, if any of that helps. Oh, and I'm in Colorado, paddling shallow rocky rivers.

Any guidance?

Thanks!
xmas0c1c1k1
CBoats Addict

Post by xmas0c1c1k1 »

I am about the same size as you and paddle with 56 or 57 inch paddle. 58 isn't too long by any means I think your fine anywhere from 56-58 more about preference at this point I will say I prefer a shorter stick in a playboat
pyc1
C Boater

Post by pyc1 »

I haven't heard of this measurement method. It sounds reasonable, but I suspect there are significant discrepancies compared to the method I've always used: sit in the boat on the water, hold the paddle vertically, submerge the blade to the neck, and the t-grip should be at eye or eyebrow level. I'm also 6'0 and use a 57 for both C-1 and OC-1.

If it's not returnable, you may be able to remove the t-grip and cut some of the paddle shaft before reattaching.
Plumbpass
C Boater

Post by Plumbpass »

Hi Paul.

I'm 5'10" and paddle a Super EZ C-1. I use an inexpensive 54" Aquabound Edge fibreglass paddle and find the length works well.

Ryan.
oopsiflipped
CBoats Addict

Post by oopsiflipped »