Video Editing Software Recommendation

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

AJ
CBoats Addict

Video Editing Software Recommendation

Post by AJ »

This movie talk has prompted me to ask if anyone has a Video Software recommendation that runs on MS-XP.

I was using Ulead Videostudio10 plus. Videostudio10 plus was pretty powerful software that had some very frustrating bugs. Luckily, I found a website that explained how to use the software way better then the manual as I was a complete beginner. The manual sucked to say it nicely.

I know there is a new Videostudio10 plus version by now that I can upgrade to, but I wanted to ask if anyone else has a recommendation.

Thanks,
Craig Smerda
L'Edge Designer

Post by Craig Smerda »

your mo-chine should have "Window's Movie Maker" on it... it's nothing super fancy but that's what I use... quick, easy and painless.
Esquif Canoes Paddler-Designer-Shape Shifter
milkman
C Maven

Post by milkman »

I use CyberLink PowerDirector. But there's a lot to be said for sticking with the software you know (Ulead) and that works on your computer.

Video editiing software is notorious for computer crashing. I think several things can reduce crashes.

1. Reboot your system and don't have a lot of other software running. This will help maximize the amount of memory (RAM) your software has available to it.

2. Don't be impatient. If your software is slow in processing something, wait it out. Clicking other commands while it's processing a different command can lead to crashes.

3. Save your work every few minutes. Some programs can be set up to do this automatically. That way, if the program crashes, you don't lose a lot of the work you've already done.