Creeking in glass (OC-1)?

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

Alden
CBoats Addict

Creeking in glass (OC-1)?

Post by Alden »

Hi everyone,

I have been dreaming for several years of owning a glass Millbrook Ignitor and taking it off all my favorite boofs on the Upper Yough every weekend. I LOVE that boat, but it feels so flexible that I am afraid I would destroy it very quickly.

So does anyone have any experience running rivers and taking the usual dings in a glass Millbrook OC-1 (any OC-1, not just the Ignitor)?

Alden
Alden
CBoats Addict

Post by Alden »

Boy, this thread already has six views (one minute later)!

We ain't playing here on the Cboats forum!
Mikey B
CBoats Addict

Ignitor

Post by Mikey B »

Kaz could do a heavier lay-up for you!
Hey, it may wear quite a bit paddling like you do, but would be fairly easy to repair. I think the stern might take a beating...maybe some super duty reinforcement there :-?
I think you should be the guinea pig so to speak and see how long it lasts :D
Maybe Kaz will give you a discount to be the composite tester
Craig Smerda
L'Edge Designer

Post by Craig Smerda »

I think one might be able to get away with it as long as you know the run very well... you have decent water levels and aren't running the boat over a lot of sharp ledges.

I know that with the shale/slate runs we have up here it isn't breaks you'd need to concern yourself with as much as rips and tears... I for one am not about to waste time repairing a boat on the side of the river if I don't have to. Same goes for Royalex... some of the stuff we have around here just tears the skin off of them.

If it's something you wouldn't feel uncomfortable running in your race C1 Alden... I don't see why you couldn't in an OC
jim gross
CBoats Addict

Alden

Post by jim gross »

Alden,