Need help sizing OC1 for big guy

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

hechoendetroit

Need help sizing OC1 for big guy

Post by hechoendetroit »

This is x-posted at boatertalk:
http://www.boatertalk.com/forum/BoaterTalk/1607967
I am posting it here at the suggestion of a couple people at BT:

I am looking at buying a solo WW canoe to paddle class III-IV. I'd like to find a used one, fully outfitting for <$600 (probably an older boat off of craiglist). I'm a complete novice at open boating.
I'm also fat @ 275lbs and 5'11". I'm working on it....

It would be a bonus if it was possible to buy a solo+tandem boat and convert it to tandem once I get down to 200lbs (maybe a Probe 14???). Do I need a boat as big as the Probe 14 for just solo?

I'd like to get some comments on what boats might work for me.

Thanks in advance!!!
hechoendetroit

a followup post

Post by hechoendetroit »

I also posted this over at BT:

I have been scanning the local classifieds and there are:
1. dagger caper
2. probe 14
3. blue hole sunburst II
4. blue hole OCA (probably a bit on the big side for just me?)

I have searched low and high for a dagger caption and Esquif Vertige X (they both look pretty sexy), with no luck.

I'm leaning towards the probe 14, due to its rocker, but I cant find rocker specs on the other boats, so who knows...

Hopefully it is more maneuverable, dry(er), side-surfs better, cruises faster, and is comfier than the other boats that I found(funny eh?)
Mr.DeadLegs
CBoats Addict

Post by Mr.DeadLegs »

There is a Dagger Encore in the for sale section of this board. It is priced right and is a great boat for a large paddler. I have never heard of one being made into a tandem boat though. For that I would go with either a Caption or an ME.