Whitesell Descender

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

MR

Whitesell Descender

Post by MR »

Does anyone have any experience or info with the Descender? I'm looking to buy my first whitewater solo boat and one of these is up for sale near me for $500.

I'm looking for something that is going to have decent stability because I'm still relatively new to whitewater, but also a boat that I can grow into for the next little while.

Any input is appreciated!
KNeal
CBoats.net Staff

Post by KNeal »

Hi, MR. The Whitesell Descender is an all-around good boat. It's a bit big compared to the trend in open canoes, but is great for running big water and you can take it creakin', if that's your thing. What it is not is a rodeo boat; however it can still pop huge enders. Typically, Whitesell owners tend to keep their boats a long time and the boats get a lot of wear in them--a buddy of mine has had his for close to 20 years and keeps patchin' the hull. Can you see what the boat looks like in person? You want to see the condition the hull is in , plus the outfitting. If it looks pretty worn, you may be able to get the price down.

Always happy to throw my $0.02 in to stimulate the economy.

KNeal
C-boats Moderator

"Believe me, my young friend, there is nothing-absolutely nothing-half so much worth doing as simply messing about in boats."
squeakyknee
CBoats Addict

Post by squeakyknee »

And if you wan't it you better snatch it up quick cause if Tom here's about it he will prolly grab it to put in his fleet. I believe he has two back ups now...
Amiga!!
Open Gate
C Guru

Post by Open Gate »

I dont dislike it, good for river running, dry, will satisfy the beginners and up to expert paddlers(didn't Mr Whitesell run the Niagara gorge with this boat 8) ? ). Good for solo tripping also.