c-1 advise

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

jededmon
Pain Boater

c-1 advise

Post by jededmon »

I'm looking to purchase a c-1. Currently I have an opportunity to pick up a cascade for a good price. I am completely new to c-1. I've paddled oc1 for a few years, but have really only been in a c-1 once.... So my question is is this an appropriate c-1 to start out in, or am I going to end up wanting something else right away. Also, being new to c-1 I'm not sure what kind of boat in general I am looking for-- playboat, river runner, creek boat.. not sure. Also, I am definitely on a limited budget but am willing to wait awhile to make the purchase if I need to spend a bit more.... Thank you.
cbcboat
CBoats Addict

Post by cbcboat »

When it comes to C1s, you can get any boat you want because most of the available c1s were kayaks. The Cascade though is a C1 specific boat, it paddles like a canoe. If you are looking for a canoe that you can put a skirt on, its the Cascade. What kind of paddling do you do? Class III river running, Playing, Class IV, CLass V? This would influence your decision. If its a great deal go for it, it will let you learn C1 paddling easier than some of the kayak conversions.
B
sbroam
CBoats.net Staff

Post by sbroam »

The Cascade is a fine boat for the transition from OC-1 to C-1, but how long you will want to paddle it really depends on you. What kind of OC-1 do you paddle now? Something with edges or a more round hull? What kind of paddling do you do? What do you *want* to do? The Cascade is a capable river runner and creeker (though long) - not so much a playboat (though you can get booming enders).
CosmikDebris
CBoats Addict

Post by CosmikDebris »