Option vs. maxim

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

Billy1wick
c

Option vs. maxim

Post by Billy1wick »

I'm a 40 year veteran of kayaking and starting to have an interest in OC-1. Rivers I will be paddling are Tellico, section 4, ocoee, tallulah, cheoah etc..3-4 stuff. Don't have the patience to demo. I usually buy, try and sell. Last year I bought a Mohawk maxim. Way too unstable for me. More swims than I care to divulge. Then I paddled an octane 91. Way too stable and heavy for me. I'm 5-10, 190 lbs. How does the option compare? Or l'edge. Etc.
Wendy
Paddling Benefactor

Re: Option vs. maxim

Post by Wendy »

The Option and L’edge are excellent choices for your height weight and rivers. They are not as stable as a 91 but boof great and hold a ferry. The Lite L’Edge is really fun with its lighter weight than a 91 or Option. I have had all of them.
Sir Adam
CBoats.net Staff

Post by Sir Adam »

If you want to go old school design with new school materials, check out the "Echoee" as well (based on the Ocoee of course...).

I've paddled the Option and original L'Edge and liked them both, but really like the lighter weight of the Echoee and responsiveness.

I'm roughly your size (a few inches shorter, a few pounds lighter, but not by much of either).
Keep the C!
Adam
milkman
C Maven

Post by milkman »