Full cut Acrobat?

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

wildwaterc2
Pain Boater

Full cut Acrobat?

Post by wildwaterc2 »

I have a 1/2 cut Viper and a masters cut Acrobat, and am interested in something between those two. I am wondering if a full cut Acrobat might be what would do well for me.

The masters cut Acrobat is a hoot for my 175 lbs. It feels like rolling a surfboard or something similarly flat and low displacement. It rolls very easily with how low it sits in the water.

The Viper is fun fast and stable by comparison, and feels a lot more like the slalom boat it was derived from. I like it's faster speed than the master Acrobat, and it is much more comfortable to sit in.

I am wondering if a full cut Acrobat might fit well between those two and would be interested in comments on how it would compare to those two. Also if you have a full cut Acrobat you are interested in selling I am likely interested.
Sir Adam
CBoats.net Staff

Re: Full cut Acrobat?

Post by Sir Adam »

For a cruiser I'd stick with a Viper.

If you want pointy, fast, and staying on the surface get a used slalom boat, and if the tail annoys you shorten it.

For a really fun surface boat check out the Millbrook Amoeba if you have the $$.
Keep the C!
Adam
PAC
CBoats.net Staff

Post by PAC »

Having owned a full cut Viper and both a full cut and master cut Acrobat. A full cut Acrobat would be a good fun boat but so would, Adam said, a slalom boat. Either a newer design or go old school. I've paddle the new school designs and had a blast. But I've also had a great time in old school boats I've owned as well.

The deal breaker in my mind would be the cost. Find a deal your happy with.

Either boat are fun. Life is short get what you want (sounds like you want the Full Acrobat).

Keep us posted and enjoy!
Paul C.
Cboats Moderator
Official TOG Member (Team Old Guy)!
Kelly-Rand
CBoats Addict