Lost my Roll

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

Danny
C Boater

Lost my Roll

Post by Danny »

So this is the most frustrating thing, I'm pretty new to OC but 2 summers ago I had a pretty bomber pool roll and even hit a few on the river under pressure. I'd go out and roll 20-30 times in the pool and felt really comfortable. Last summer I couldn't paddle and this year I'm getting back out some, but my roll has left the building. I've reviewed lots of videos and notes I've saved, and I just can't get it back. Once in a while I get lucky , but for the most part it's failure. When I compare videos of from 2 summers ago vs today's flops I'll be darned if I can pick out the problems. This seems a little like forgetting how to ride a bike! This ever happen to anyone? Love to hear your favorite que's and focus's when you roll. Perhaps something will snap me back to the surface.
sbroam
CBoats.net Staff

Re: Lost my Roll

Post by sbroam »

Can you post any video of your recent roll practice? When I lose mine its because I start using only my arms and leave out the legs. I think we focus on and talk the most about the arm motions and it's easy to make that mistake. The other obvious ones are raising your head early and (especially in OC-1) rushing things.

But... as Yogi would have said if he was a paddler - "Rolling is ninety percent mental and the other half is physical."
keez
C Guru

Post by keez »

Danny; 9x's out of 10 it's because your bringing your head up too fast. Make sure you read the logo on the side of the boat at your hips (I think that's why they put it there).
Einar
CBoats Addict

loser of rolls

Post by Einar »

no hero here, I lose mine every season. Each year I add on a new excuse but the recurring one is... I don't like being upside down in a river and speed up to end that.