Canoe instruction... why do so few of us pay for it?

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

Sir Adam
CBoats.net Staff

Canoe instruction... why do so few of us pay for it?

Post by Sir Adam »

Reading Kimmie's post, and taking a clinic from Eli (The Canoe Guru) yesterday, I started thinking - why DO so few CBoaters pay for instruction? I'm a perfect example - mostly self-taught, try to get insights from fellow paddlers (many of them who still use two blades), and I think I've taken exactly 3 clinics in all the years I've been paddling - first a clinic with two instructors as part of the C1 Concordia (that this forum was created to support by Scott W. and Dave M.), then from the excellent Beth Kennedy as part of the Single Blade Symposium, and finally from the awesome Eli Helbert yesterday.

Looking at individual sports...
When golfers want to step up their game... they pay a golf pro for instruction...
When tennis players want to step up their game... they pay for instruction...
When skiers (downhill and XC... I'm an XC instructor..)... they take a lesson.
And if you want to get water related... look at all the fly fisherman who take lessons (and need them too from all the line we see in the trees sometimes :roll: ).

So why on earth do we think canoeing is any different?

Not really ranting, just trying to figure out why, as in the past I've leaned toward informal instruction (free or very, very cheap), and after taking a clinic from Beth and then Eli I really see the value of paying someone who not only knows how to paddle, but how to pick apart what you need to improve and relay that to you. And that is tough from someone as "frugal" as I am at times.