Help Choosing my First WW Solo Canoe

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

LBRiver

Help Choosing my First WW Solo Canoe

Post by LBRiver »

I am a beginner whitewater paddler, seeking advice before purchasing my first boat.

I'm looking to buy a boat (hopefully used) but am a little baffled on what I should be looking for. I am a small woman, 5'3" and 110 pounds. I have only been paddling for a year and am sticking right now with class 1s and 2s with the occasional 3, but would like a boat that I could grow with. Ideally, I want to find a boat that's small enough that it will respond well to my smaller size with gunnels that will allow me to reach my paddle fully in the water on my cross strokes, and also light enough that I'll be able to transport it without huge hassle (although I'm not a stickler on that last part).

I would love to hear advice/suggestions from other paddlers out there.
Trex
Pain Boater

Re: Help Choosing my First WW Solo Canoe

Post by Trex »

I know a women about your size who loves her Bell Prodigy which was her first WW boat. It has forgiving edges but still carves nicely. Narrow enough for a small person to do a cross-forward stroke. It has average primary stability but very strong secondary stability which gives you the confidence to lay it to the rails. It's a nice boat to learn in that you won't outgrow in two months. It should be fine for the waters you are looking at but may wear out if you spend most of your time creeking. Bell's out of business so available used only. It's one option if you can find one..
VTBoater
Pain Boater

Post by VTBoater »

What boat have you been paddling, and what do you like/dislike about it?
djutzi
C Guru

Post by djutzi »

a cut-down Zephyr might suit your needs (its light, dry, forgiving, tracks well, etc - a great all-round boat).