Which drysuit?

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

Pea Pod
C Guru

Which drysuit?

Post by Pea Pod »

I'll be visiting Canada in a month for a few weeks to do some OC1 courses. I'm looking to buy a drysuit for those courses, and to bring back to Australia for the colder months, where water temps drop to ~5*C/40*F. Going with Kokatat due to their reputation for fine products.

I have zero experience with drysuits, and want to get an idea what models are most suitable for me. I am thinking down the lower end of the price spectrum. There are two options that I see as most likely, and I want to know if they will be OK for rolling in cold water:

1. SuperNova Semi-Dry Suit (Tropos 2 fabric, metal tooth zippers, neoprene neck seal) $500 from MEC http://www.mec.ca/AST/ShopMEC/MensCloth ... unisex.jsp

2. Lightweight Paddling Suit (Goretex Performance Shell and neoprene neck seal NOT latex). $675 from MEC http://www.mec.ca/AST/ShopMEC/MensCloth ... unisex.jsp

Cheers,

Peter.
canotrouge
C Guru

Re: Which drysuit?

Post by canotrouge »

Hey Peter, these suit will work, but you will get water in by the neck, unless you have a big neck and even then you will get some. The neck of these suits are not a latex gasket, but a neoprene one with a flimsy closure system.

So if you don't mind having cold water coming in your suit.... They will do to a certain degree!!

If you can get your hands on one like this, http://kokatat.com/products/dry-suits/g ... r-men.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

it is a full on GTX dry suit w/o all the bells and whistles...

Cheers
Larry Horne
C Maven

Post by Larry Horne »

Dont buy a drysuit without a real gasket. It's not dry and would be a waste of money If you plan to roll. If you don't plan to roll.. advice might be different.
Larry
Paddle Power
C Maven

Post by Paddle Power »