renting an OC boat in New England?

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

Coz Teplitz
C Boater

renting an OC boat in New England?

Post by Coz Teplitz »

Hi folks:

My fiancee and I have been trolling message boards for a few months trying to pick up a few reasonable OC-1s. No luck there, and our initial July 4th plans had to get scrapped, and now we're tossing around the idea of whitewater. We're both decent paddlers - we paddled frequently when we lived around Asheville, NC and had lots of friends with boats (and worked for Outward Bound - that was the life). I've tried some internet searching but not found anything. Can anyone here shed any light on how we might be able to rent an OC-2 or two OC-1s for some mellow fun this weekend with some other friends? We live in Boston, and initial paddling plans were western MA, but we are willing to drive.

Thanks, folks!
Coz
Brewbeer
C Boater

Post by Brewbeer »

Have you checked in with Zoar Outdoor in Charlemont? They've had OC-1s on their racks.
Coz Teplitz
C Boater

Post by Coz Teplitz »

Yes, I've talked with them - those OC-1s are for clinics and eventually for sale. They don't rent them, unfortunately. Closest we can get is a funyak - which may be our best bet at this point. Thanks for the suggestion, though.
Brewbeer
C Boater

Post by Brewbeer »

Have you asked to "demo" them?
Shep
CBoats Addict

Post by Shep »

Yeah... That's a different story than I've gotten in the past, but I also took my Instructor Cert through them. In the past they have stated that they won't rent to someone that they haven't witnessed perform a wet exit, or something along those lines. But I am 90% sure that they actively let people demo kayaks, so why should OC1 be different?!? If they are really giving you the run around, PM me, and I will call a manager I know there and see if we can't get that sorted.