Mohawk thigh retainer system

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

Hans Vidkjer
Pain Boater

Post by Hans Vidkjer »

Hey - what do you guys think of this system? I've always used a double strap, mike yee style setup. I have a viper on loan that has the thigh retainer system, and, although I was skeptical about it, it doesn't seem too bad. I'm just learning to roll, so I don't feel I can really make a good judgment on that aspect (other than I didn't immediately fall out when upside down). Anyway, I'd be interested in opinions, experiences, etc.
Thanks,
Hans
Larry Horne
C Maven

Post by Larry Horne »

As I remember it, the double straps were much more secure and more comfortable for me.
In order to feel secure with that lap belt, I had to tighten it real tight and push into it so hard that it wasn't comfortable. That said, it worked good enough to leave it as it was.

BTW- you can make me an offer on that boat if you want it. :wink: I'll be fine with the one I have left.
Larry
Shep
CBoats Addict

Post by Shep »

I don't want to knock the guys at Mohawk, as I like them and their boats. That said, if I were ordering a boat that I wanted to be able to roll, I would order their "extreme" outfitting, not the lap strap. I would very much like to hear Richard's opinion, though, 'cause I think he's a straight shooter, and certainly few people have more experience with it than he does. I also wonder what outfitting iRolled and Eddy have in their boats.

Shep
Mike W.
CBoats.net Staff

Post by Mike W. »

I've had it in two boats. I really liked it. It came in my new Probe11 many years ago. I'm short & a knee would pop out when I rolled. I think I added 1" to the backrest to move me forward. That fixed it. Easy in & out of the boat & secure enough to roll.
ezwater
C Maven

Post by ezwater »