Here is a question for the mature boater

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

ESP
C Guru

Here is a question for the mature boater

Post by ESP »

I have been boating in an OC1 for about 4 months and have been making adjustments to the outfitting regarding comfort. I can now stay in the boat for extended periods without my ankles going to sleep. Unfortunately when it is finally time to get out of the boat my knees complain to the extent that I feel like a cripple. Any solutions?
sganarelle
Pain Boater

Post by sganarelle »

get out and stretch every now and then. my experience is not too different from yours. but this is my first boat and my first outfitting job so i may have done it wrong.
milkman
C Maven

Post by milkman »

I agree. Get out of the boat more and stretch. I typically get out of the boat to lift up and drain it after a juicy surf, to take photos and video of my companions, or to set safety. I find that hopping out of the boat a lot prevents that crippled feeling. Oddly enough, there's nothing like a swim either for getting those legs moving again fast. Maybe that stiffness is all in our minds.
Craig Smerda
L'Edge Designer

Post by Craig Smerda »

let's see the outfitting once...
Esquif Canoes Paddler-Designer-Shape Shifter
rainfoot
Pain Boater

Post by rainfoot »

ibuprofen is my friend
OC1 spoken here.
Lappie
C Guru

Post by Lappie »

I'm with Craig, let see your outfiting! Do you have any knee pading? How tall is your saddle( I find that a tall saddle put more presure on my knees...and a realy low one put my feet asleep)? Do you have your feet close to the saddle(foot pegs) or further out( some people use toe block out to the side of the hull)? All these thing I found could make my knees soar...
Smurfwarrior
C Maven

Post by Smurfwarrior »

I take 800mg ibuprofen x3 times daily. He's in an Option that I added a bunch of comfort foam to at ALF.