Martikan C1 in Plastic?

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

semdoug
Pain Boater

Martikan C1 in Plastic?

Post by semdoug »

Check this out. http://www.vajdagroup.com/products/styrolight

Down at the bottom of the page they state the Martikan is available in this type of thermoform plastic.

490 Euros is about $700 plus whatever shipping and taxes, sounds like a reasonable price.

Anyone know about this type of plastic? Sounds kind of like the Esquif TwinTex or Amerlite, but I'm no plastic expert.

A high performance C1 design in plastic at that price point might be pretty attractive.
edg
C Guru

Plasic Martikan

Post by edg »

Courtesy of Chris Hipgrave, former USACK High Performance Director, a bit more information, at least about the material. I agree, this could be a pretty cost effective way to get a modern shape- this coming from a guy whose "race" boats are a Andy Bridge/Valley Mill built wildwater boat and an (ab)used slalom boat dating from 1999 or so....edg

"The Styrolight boats are ABS and made of the same materials as Hurricane here in the USA. They may have upped the styrene content to get slightly better impact resistance, but otherwise its the same material. In fact, Styrene is the S in ABS (Acrylo- nitrile Butidyne Styrene) ... just in case you ever wanted to know. ABS is very good at rubbing/scraping type wear but NOT good with impacts, particularly on sharp objects with/and small impact areas where the force is focused. Bonding Kevlar to ABS is possible to reinforce it. It's also repairable quickly with something as quick as 10 minute epoxy. The boats Vajda are offering in ABS as very youth focused which is fantastic. We've got an ABS No-Limits K1 and a Sprint K1 coming to NC on the next Vajda container so we'll get a chance to see how they work in the real world."
TheKrikkitWars
CBoats.net Staff

Post by TheKrikkitWars »