Looking for a GOOD C1 for Creeking

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

Bruce Farrenkopf
CBoats Addict

Post by Bruce Farrenkopf »

:) A recommendation is requested for a kayak that would make a good C1 conversion for creeking. I've paddled a Cascade in the past, and liked it, but needed to find a shorter creek boat (the Cascade is 11 feet long). So I have been using a Perception Stikine for the past two years out here in California with limited success, and need to find a new boat that will improve on the Stikine's performance. I also need to improve my own performance, but that's another story. Bascically, I want a boat that is going to increase my chances out there.
I am currently considering the Wavesport Y, Prijon Embudo and Riot Big Gun (not necessarily in that order). Would appreciate some input on these boats as well as some alternatives.
Thanks for any help you can provide.
SYOTR,
Bruce Farrenkopf
creek1r
Pain Boater

BigGun...

Post by creek1r »

works well for 175#. Good it tight tech. creeks and good in bigger river running uses. Pyranha H2 / H3 series boats work well. For really big guy Pyranha G3 would be great. You need to tell weight as it will affect which boat will work.
Bryant
dillonpro
Pain Boater

creeker

Post by dillonpro »

Bruce,
Tell us more about your weight and height. You may want to add the Liquid Logic Gus to the list depending on your size. I just bought one :D and I love it. I recently bought a Y but at 205# and a 6'3" inseam and big thighs, I didn't feel I could spread my knees to the comfortable stable position I like them as the hull tapers fast as it goes toward the bottom of the boat. It felt narrow and the cockpit was pushing into my thighs sitting on my 6" pedestal. Some C-1 boaters like them but it just wasn't for me. I just felt bad karma in the Y. Just my $.02.
LarryD
aldenb

boats

Post by aldenb »