Outfitting question

Decked Canoes, Open Canoes, as long as they're canoes!

Moderators: kenneth, sbroam, TheKrikkitWars, Mike W., Sir Adam, KNeal, PAC, adamin

Sir Adam
CBoats.net Staff

Outfitting question

Post by Sir Adam »

Outfitting question
by Brian Jones
What do you use to secure thigh straps(mohawk thigh retainer)and what glue do you use for foam. I'm just starting out C-1 in a WS Z and I feel like the outfitting is entirely too loose.Any tricks or comments to help remedy this would be great.
Brian
Posted on May 26, 2002, 4:05 AM

glue
by Gabe
Hey Brian,

I use "Goop" -- this heavy glue that comes in toothpaste-like tubes at my local hardware store. It's the perfect stuff.

If not Goop, I use the old Weldwood Contact Cement (make sure to use the flammable kind; the unflammable kind works not). Use a thin layer, and give it time to cure.
Posted on May 26, 2002, 4:49 AM

Answers...
by Sir Adam
Greetings...

For attaching thigh straps-if it's plastic boat I'd personally drill through the hull and bolt it (use rubber "washers" against the boat, then normal metal washers, then the bolt head / nut (like a big sandwich)). If it's glass use resin or epoxy to glass in a strap you can attach things to (or bolt and seal as above).

For foam use at least 2 thin coats of the flammable contact cement "Gabe" mentioned on each piece (in a well ventilated area, like outside), let "dry" between the two coats and after, then stick them together (I usually wait overnight, but it's a personal thing).

C-ya IN the Rivah!
Sir Adam
Posted on May 28, 2002, 6:21 AM

aluminium
by scoot
Brian dude, these guys is crazy. With a plastic boat you don't want to be bolting through the hull or gluing to it. don't matter which boat, a plastic hull doesn't have the rigidity for this, it will flex and cause massive oil canning.